A new season

Despite this past winter being the coldest and meanest I’ve ever experienced in Oxford, we managed to get the plot ready for spring planting at the same time of year that we always do. Last weekend we finished pulling weeds (will we ever learn to mulch?). Then we added our compost, some garden lime, and some organic fertilizer to our soil and finished it off by tilling the plot thoroughly.

Yesterday afternoon, we did our first planting of the year.  We put in some chard, spinach, cabbage, kohlrabi, and lettuce plants, most if which we purchased at the Farmers’ Market Store. I also put in one row of flower seeds.  I bought a packet of mixed flower seeds that contain annual varieties native to the southeastern U.S.  that should entice pollinators of all types to the garden.  All of my seeds this year are coming from Sow True Seed and my purchases help support the Good Food for Oxford Schools initiative.  In a couple more weeks, I will plant the carrot and herb seeds. I will wait until mid-April to start the cucumber and green bean seeds. I can’t wait for green beans!

Leave a Reply

