Spring Break like a boss

I decided to work half days during Spring Break; I go to work in the mornings and have off in the afternoons. Yesterday afternoon, we went out to the garden to weed the plot.  We’ve been harvesting carrots all winter long and I figured there were still a few left. We brought a bag to collect the last of the carrots as we weeded. About 2 hours and 10 lbs. of carrots later we were done. TEN POUNDS of carrots.  Once we got the carrots home, I decided that I wanted to juice some of them.  I remembered a bottled juice that I like to get at Whole Foods that is a blend of carrot, orange, and ginger.  Not having a juicer, I went to Goodwill and found a Jack Lalanne Power Juicer for $25! Score! I picked up a 5 lb. bag of oranges and a piece of fresh ginger.  I juiced all of the oranges with half the carrots and small amounts of ginger.  Ten pounds of produce yielded about 1 1/2 quarts of delicious juice. I’m going to have to do this more often!

 

Some of these carrots were bigger around than my wrist.

carrots

Leave a Reply

