A meager carrot harvest

I think that insects are to blame for my low carrot harvest.  The sprouts would disappear shortly after emerging from the soil.  Something was mowing them down.  I basically got the equivalent of one bunch of carrots from the whole spring planting.  I will try again in the fall.  Last fall, I had an excellent carrot crop.  The large, dark carrots are of the Purple Haze variety; they are psychedelic!  I roasted a chicken with roasted potatoes and carrots.  Yummy.

Cut up carrots 

Bunch of carrots

Steve and I spent a couple of hours this morning pulling up weeds and plants no longer producing.  We laid down a thick bed of leaf mulch.  The community harvest folks will continue to harvest kale and chard for as long as it lasts.   We won’t be doing much in the plot again until early September.

Leave a Reply

