Sprouting

We planted seeds 9 days ago and we now have sprouts! Radishes are nice to plant because you are basically guaranteed that they will grow.  I think I saw some nearly microscopic carrot sprouts. Or maybe those were weeds. And I definitely saw 1 beet sprout.

But my chard plants were pretty wilted in spite of the straw mulch that we put down.  I don’t think I like hilling up my rows; they seem to dry out much too quickly.

Here’s a tip I learned from an experienced gardener. Save those plastic containers with lids that berries come in at the supermarket.  Put some good potting soil or garden soil in them and plant seeds.  Put the lid on and put them out in the garden.  Voila, mini-greenhouses for starting seeds.

Leave a Reply

