Lush plots

I feel bad that I haven’t been keeping up with the blog  posts.  It’s been over a month! But I haven’t been neglecting the garden.  Plots are bursting forth with summer produce; the sunflowers are especially lovely this year.

My tomatoes don’t seem to have any bird holes in them. Instead they are being eaten by caterpillars.  I’ve applied some BT and am anxious to see how well it works.  Gardeners on 3 sides of me are using Sevin or some other broad based pesticides. I think all of their insects have come over to my plot! The tomatoes we have been able to harvest are absolutely terrific.  We have Sungold cherry tomatoes, Big Beef slicers, San Marzano plum tomatoes and a moderate size slicer called Fantastic.

As usual, the basil and other herbs are growing like crazy.  I bought a 4 inch pot of lemongrass back in the spring. Now I have about a square yard of the stuff and it keeps growing.  I’ve been scouring the

Lemongrass

I need lemongrass recipes!

interwebs for recipes.  I’ve made an excellent iced tea and a variety of marinades.  The same thing is happening with my thyme.  When it comes time for the fall garden, I will be dividing the thyme and giving most of it away.  The lemongrass will have to go in a pot to avoid freezing.

Today I started some peat pots with seeds for broccoli, spinach, chard, and kohlrabi. They should be ready to transplant in 6-8 weeks, just in time for fall gardening.

Leave a Reply

