Planted tomatoes

The peas, chard, bok choy, and kohlrabi that I planted a month ago are still alive. But that’s pretty much all I can say about them.  They really haven’t grown much.  Something has been munching on the bok choy. Tomorrow, I am going to take some row cover out there and see if I can forestall any more insect damage.  The variety of spinach seed that I planted last fall is called “Giant Spinach”.  It has grown up and is producing truly Giant Spinach leaves.  I much prefer cooked spinach to raw; this variety is perfect for sauteeing. I’ve also got some lettuce and arugula so we’re having spinach pizza and a salad for supper tonight.

My tomatoes arrived from Territorial Seed so we took those out and planted them. I’ve got 2 San Marzano plum tomatoes, and one each of Big Beef, Sun Gold, Valley Girl, and Fantastic. They looked a little bit droopy, but I think they’ll be fine.  I took Forrest’s suggestion and put a single Tums at the bottom of each hole I dug to provide a calcium boost. I’m hoping to avoid the blossom end rot that we experienced last year.  If all goes well, I should have fruit by the end of June/early July.  I guess I should be thinking about getting some pepper plants out there too.  I’ve got some seedling basil and parsley that I’ll put out when they get a little bigger.

Spring Greens

Spinach and lettuces

It was busy out in the garden this morning and I got to meet one of my new plot neighbors, Alex.  It’s great to be out there and see a lot of activity.

Leave a Reply

