Happy Spring!

For almost the past 12 months, I’ve been layering green kitchen waste with layers of newspaper, dry leaves, and some compost helper. It was very slow going at first, but today we took an entire wheelbarrow full of mostly decomposed organic matter out to our garden plot and turned it into the soil. I saw quite a few earthworms in the mix. I hope they find their new home agreeable. I also took my seedlings of kohlrabi, bok choy, spinach, and chard out and planted them. We’ll see if this works any better than my completely failed attempts at planting seeds directly in the garden.

Some of the onion sets that we planted last spring are not only growing but thriving. I hope to have at least a few big onions to harvest this fall.

Every time we visit the garden, I see that another plot has been weeded and tilled. Things are revving up for spring.

Leave a Reply

