Spring is springing

A weekend of 70 degree days has got me thinking about the garden again.   My fall garden was a bust.  The peas sprouted quite nicely but never flowered. I think all of the other seeds we planted ended up getting washed away, with the exception of a few spinach plants.

Steve and I visited the garden yesterday. Tiffany and Jason were there tending their continually producing plot. Forrest was preparing her garden and getting ready to plant potatoes. I can’t wait to see how they do.

For Christmas this year, I got a 4 foot grow light.  Steve set it up for me in the garage today and I’m starting a few things from seed. I’m hoping this will work better for me than direct seeding did last year.  I’m starting with a very few attempts at kohlrabi, basil, parsley, chard, spinach, and peas.  Even though the temp will probably get back down into the 30s in the coming week, I think my garage will be a warm enough place for seed starting. I guess we’ll see!

My compost pile seems to be composting, albeit slowly. I’ve added some compost-helper to try and move it along.  By the time April rolls around, I should have some pretty good looking stuff.

In the meantime, I’m mooning over seed catalogs and wondering if my garden could produce anything that is as perfect as what appears in catalog pictures.

Leave a Reply

