Fall gardening has begun

About two weeks ago, we finished pulling up all of  our tomato plants. I got tired of waiting for them to do anything.  We planted a some sugar snap peas, and some lettuces and spinach.  The greens don’t seem to be doing anything. I might try planting again.  The peas are up and are a good 2-3 inches tall. I still get a thrill when I see sprouts from seeds I planted.  In the meantime, the pepper plants and the basil are still going like gangbusters!

Tonight’s predicted low temperature is 38 degrees!  I’m going to pick all of the remaining basil and the peppers todayand  I’m going to spend the afternoon making pesto and pickled peppers.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Debbie on October 3, 2010 at 9:11 am

    We planted arugula and radishes, among other things, and have already enjoyed the first harvest–plant them for instant gratification! I’m looking forward to learning more about the success of your sugar snap peas.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

