Better tomatoes, more salsa

The application of Rot Stop seems to have halted the blossom end rot of my roma tomatoes! We still have plenty of damage caused by birds/insects/heat.  But I now have 4.5 lbs of romas that I am turning into salsa.  It’s a very similar recipe to the tomatillo  one that I posted and comes from the same cookbook.  The hot peppers have been good producers but they seem to be taking a break from fruiting right now. Luckily, I’ve had a bowl of them in the fridge waiting for salsa day.  My other varieties of tomatoes are highly variable in their ability to produce fruit.  The Better Boys seem to be slow but steady.  All of the other varieties I’ve tried seem to struggle to set fruit. Don’t know what, if anything, to do about that.

I’ve  used some farmer’s market vegetables to make Mark Bittman’s Layered Vegetable Torte with some minor modifications. I did use a springform pan but it could easily be made in a deep pie  dish.  I layered eggplant, jarred roasted red peppers, zucchini, and mushrooms and I painted each layer with a bit of homemade pesto. I topped it all with grated Asiago, no breadcrumbs.  Yummy!

Leave a Reply

