A sublime combination of local and exotic

When I started this blog, my intention was to not only share news about my plot but to also share recipes featuring my plot ingredients.

So far, I’ve mostly harvested lettuces and some scallions.  My favorite salad right now features those ingredients combined with some chopped up oranges, a sprinkling of smoked paprika and a dressing made of white balsamic vinegar and olive oil.  Here goes.

The real star on my dinner table these days is the chanterelle mushroom which is growing more profusely in my neighborhood than I’ve ever seen before.  We’ve collected POUNDS of them.  My daughter is complaining that we put mushrooms in everything.  Tonight, alongside the salad, we had  Rustic Chanterelle,  Bacon, and Roquefort Tart. I made a gluten free pie crust instead of the specified pastry dough and am using locally produced bacon from Stan’s Country Store.

Sublime.

Leave a Reply

